Deep Learning Architectures

According to Yann Lecun 1, there are three types of deep architectures: feed-forward, feed-back and bi-directional.


Multilayer Neural Nets 2

A multilayer perceptron (MLP) is a feedforward artificial neural network model that maps sets of input data onto a set of appropriate outputs. A MLP consists of multiple layers of nodes in a directed graph, with each layer fully connected to the next one. Except for the input nodes, each node is a neuron (or processing element) with a nonlinear activation function.

task: any supervised learning pattern recognition process

Convolutional Neural Nets 3

In machine learning, a convolutional neural network (CNN, or ConvNet) is a type of feed-forward artificial neural network where the individual neurons are tiled in such a way that they respond to overlapping regions in the visual field.Convolutional networks were inspired by biological processes and are variations of multilayer perceptrons which are designed to use minimal amounts of preprocessing. They are widely used models for image and video recognition.

task: Computer Vision


Stacked sparse coding

Deconvolutional nets


Recurrent neural network 4

A recurrent neural network (RNN) is a class of artificial neural network where connections between units form a directed cycle. This creates an internal state of the network which allows it to exhibit dynamic temporal behavior.

Task: Word Embeddings

Deep Boltzmann Network

Stacked auto-encoders 5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s